Charles Wahlig Memorial USARS Life Membership Award

Charles Wahlig's name was affixed to this award after his death in 2007 to commemorate his having been

the first recipient of USARS Life Membership in 1960 and in recognition for his long and exceptional service

provided to the entire spectrum of roller sports. USARS is honored to perpetuate this tribute to subsequent

roller sport benefactors and leaders who have likewise contributed substantial opportunity, programs and

achievements for growth and success of American amateur competitive roller skating through their

extended service to this sport and to welcome them as Life Members. (Prior to 2009, known as “USARS Life


2020 - Tom Hughes, Anchorage, Alaska

2019 - Not awarded

2018 - Bill Spooner, Battle Ground, Washington

2017 - Not awarded

2016 - John and DeeDee Viola, Whitman, Massachusetts

2015 - Gloria Manning, Miami, Florida

2014 - George Kolibaba, Portland, Oregon

2013 - Caroline Mirelli, Memphis, Tennessee

Bud & Shirley Engle, Cleveland, Ohio

2012- Annelle Anderson, Hurst, Texas

2011 - Janet Palm, Lancaster, New York

2010 - Jim Ball, South Gate, California

Bob Labriola, Fountain Valley, California

2009 - John Gustafson, Auburn, Washington

2008 - Betty Ann Danna, Lakewood Ranch, Florida

2007 - Not awarded

2006 - Larry Pep, Tampa, Florida

2005 - Dominic Cangelosi, Burbank, California

Paul McNeil, Norwood, Massachusetts

Ted Leineke, Mauldin, South Carolina

2004 - Not awarded

2003 - Scott Kleiman, Austell, Georgia

2002 - Beverly Schien, Flint, Michicgan

Bob Hemphill, Bremerton, Washington

Bob Byerly, High Point, North Carolina

George Pickard, Lincoln, Nebraska

2001 - Not awarded

2000 - Not awarded

1999 - Not awarded

1998 - Gary Castro, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Jim Pollard, Redwood City, California

Gene Cox, Shawnee Mission, Kansas

Bill Sisson, Lubbock, Texas

1997 - Budd Van Roekel, Temecula, California

John Milligan, El Paso, Texas

1996 - Dave Morrell, Pleasant Hill, California

Jim Heater, Castro Valley, California

1992 - Marie Walker, Groton, Connecticut

1991 - Dennis Snead, Greensboro, North Carolina

1988 - Dale Pritchard, Portland, Oregon

1987 - Charles “Chuck” Kurp. Grand Prairie, Texas

1985 - Joseph Nazzaro Sr., Menlo Park, California

Harry Ball, South Gate, California

1984 - Al Nicol, Redwood City, California

1980 - Ralph “Jeep” Ferguson, Cumberland, Maryland

1965 - Marion McCormick, San Diego, California

1962 - M.M.”Red” Shattuck, Redwood City, California

1961 - Frank Bartik, Newark, New Jersey

William Gilhart, Summit, New Jersey

Robert Irwin, Chicago, Illinois

1960 - Charles Wahlig, Newark, Delaware